Today is March 13, 2011, I have gone midway through the spring semester at UNR. Before the semester started, I had promised myself I would continue to add content to this blog.  However, the it has been increasingly difficult to achieve that goal, it seems that time is always fleeting. 

Here’s an update — currently, I am taking two management classes and three economics classes.  Furthermore, I have joined the Management and Human Resources Association and the International Business Student Chapter.  Lastly, I continue to work at least 32 hours per week.  This tax season has been grueling as I have been busy doing most of our bookwork.

Also, although landscaping is a seasonal business, the month of February brought several snow storms which presented the opportunity to hustle and make some money performing snow removal for a few of my customers. So while I would have loved to go snowboarding after the storms, instead I was dripping sweat, shoveling snow.  I believe strongly that hardwork builds character, so I took my 18 and 16 year-old nephews to help me out.

The house pictures above was particularly difficult. Currently, it is for sale and the real estate agent called me after an accumulation of snow of about four feet.  By the time I arrived, there was a two inch layer of ice, a 24 inch layer of compacted week-old snow, and another 14 inches of fresh snow to top it off.  It took us about five hours to dig out with the help of a 10HP snow blower.  Whhooo!

Anyhow, my goal today was to post an update on this blog and get back into the habit of writing.  I want to post here at least once a week.  In the following weeks, I will be applying for jobs and internships as I try to transition from landscaping to a more secure and professional line of work.  Please feel free to give me any advice you may have… I hope you find your way back soon.

